The research group was established in 1998. The Aerosol Physics Group is part of the Atmosphere and Climate Competence Center (ACCC)
The research staff that is currently involved in the Aerosol Physics Group is:


Senior scientists and visiting professors


Postgraduate students:

Undergraduate students:

  • Henri Oikarinen
  • Maria Laurikainen
  • Aki Nissinen

Supporting staff


  • Thomas Kühn, Ph.D, Docent, Group Leader, Finnish Meteorological Institute
  • Kimmo Korhonen, Ph.D, Post-doctoral researcher, Tampere University
  • Noora Hyttinen, Ph.D, Post-doctoral researcher, University of Jyväskylä
  • Matthew Ozon, Ph.D., Post-doctoral researcher
  • Olli-Pekka Tikkanen, Ph.D, Post doctoral Researcher, University of Helsinki
  • Tuomo Nieminen, Ph.D, Assistant Professor, University of Helsinki
  • Eetu Kari, Ph.D., R&D Specialist in Neste Oy.
  • Luis Barreira, Ph.D, Researcher in Finnish Meteorological Institute
  • Eemeli Holopainen, M.Sc., Resercher in Finnish Meteorological Institute
  • Sergey Nizkorodov, Ph.D., Professor, University of California, Irvine, USA
  • Sean Garrick, Ph.D., Professor, University of Minnesota, USA
  • Celia Faiola, Assistant Professor, University of California, Irvine, USA
  • Aki Pajunoja, Ph.D., CEO, Airmodus Ltd.
  • Jani Huttunen, Ph.D., Engineer at Teollisuuden Voima Oyj
  • Anssi Liikanen, R&D Engineer, Agco Power Ltd
  • Elham Baranizadeh, Ph.D, Researcher, University of California, Riverside, USA
  • Hao Wang, Ph.D, Research professorr, Jinan University, Guangdong, China
  • Antti Jaatinen, Optomechanics, R&D, Oplatek Oy
  • Zubair Maalick, Ph.D, Data Scientist, CSC- IT centre for Science
  • Jussi Malila, Ph.D, Post doctoral researcher, University of Oulu
  • Anneke Batenburg, Researcher, Max Planck Institute for Chemistry, Germany
  • Jae-Seok Kim, Researcher, Korean Polar Insititute, South Korea
  • Sami Romakkaniemi, Research professor, Head of the Unit, Finnish Meteorological Institute, Kuopio
  • Yu Jun Leong, Consult, Geosyntec Consultants, USA
  • Helmi Keskinen, Researcher, University of Helsinki /Hyytiälä Forest Station
  • Jim Smith, Ph.D., Professor, University of California, Irvine, USA
  • Mike Lawler, Post Doc, University of California, Irvine, USA
  • Irshad Ahmad, MSc
  • Aki Kortelainen, Ph.D, Educational sector
  • Tapani Korhola, MSc, Educational sector
  • Amar Hamed, Ph.D
  • Petri Vaattovaara, EHS manager, Hexion corporation
  • Hannele Korhonen, Research professor, Finnish Meteorological Institute
  • Riikka Sorjamaa, Researcher, Finnish institute of occupational health
  • Joni-Pekka Pietikäinen, Ph.D, Research Scientist, Climate Service Center Germany
  • Petri Tiitta, Post Doc, Univ. Eastern Finland, Dept. of Environ. Sci.
  • Harri Kokkola, Group leader, Finnish Meteorological Institute
  • Tomi Raatikainen, Researcher, Finnish Meteorological Institute
  • Ismo Koponen, Senior researcher, National Research Centre for the Working Environment, Denmark